Sexy Hostess and The Cocktail Hour

I’m writing this as I’m visiting my Aunt Pamela in Alexandria, Virginia, for a weekend of shopping, dinner with my great friend, Tracey, and viewing of the off-broadway hit, Xanadu (a remake of the 80’s cult classic starring Olivia Newton John). Whenever I come here, I make a point of hitting “The Hour Shop” in Old Town Alexandria, which is devoted solely to the art of the cocktail hour. The store is two-levels of vintage and new cocktail glasses, shakers, stirrers, pitchers, platters, bar sets and serving bowls that Betty Draper would surely have approved of.

Betty would have loved "The Hour Shop."

I collect vintage cocktails sets now.  My Aunt Pamela bought me my first, a pink and gold girlie masterpiece from The Hour Shop, which has become one of the focal points of my living room.

One of my cocktail sets, which I used as a prop for our "New Year, New You" ad campaign for Count Me Healthy

Some pics of The Hour Shop..

The Hour Shop

The Hour Shop

Second floor devoted to 6-12 piece cocktail sets and barware

Second floor devoted to 6-12 piece cocktail sets and barware

barware

barware

Vintage gold tulip cocktail forks

Vintage gold tulip cocktail forks

These reminded me of my Grandpa Meldrum, who played the standup base in a Big Band Group

These reminded me of my Grandpa Meldrum, who played the standup base in a Big Band Group

Bright 40's 50's & 60's artwork is laced throughout The Hour Shop

Bright 40's 50's & 60's artwork is laced throughout The Hour Shop. "Put down the paper and come hither my darling."

stirrers and garnish pics and more stirrers

Stirrers and garnish pics and more stirrers...

I found the next set to add to my collection. A lavender set complete with pitcher and 6 glasses.

Such an amazing set! I want to add it to my repertoire. Fragile lavender and gold

Such an amazing set! I want to add it to my repertoire. Fragile lavender and gold

And, in honor of fantastic cocktail parties from decades past, here is a refreshingly light drink recipe  (courtesy of “Mad Men inspired Cocktails” on The Today Show)

Cucumber Collins
Serve in a tall glass (similar to the Lavender tall glasses I covet above)

  • 2 ounces Hendricks Gin
  • 1 ounce fresh lemon juice
  • 1 ounce simple syrup
  • 4 thin cucumber slices muddled
  • 1 ounce club soda

In mixing glass, muddle cucumber with simple syrup. Add gin and juice then fill glass with ice and shake in shaker tin. Strain and pour over ice into glass. Top with club soda. Garnish with a cucumber slice

A Cucumber Collins would look far more fetching in a fab, unique glass.

For today’s host and hostess, the modern cocktail party is picking up where the 1940s, 50s and 60s left off.  Home entertaining is all about being unique and having style.  Consider picking up a vintage set to add flare and a definite conversation piece. It surely will bring out the sexy hostess in you. Chelsea

1 thought on “Sexy Hostess and The Cocktail Hour

Leave a comment