Jewelry designer, Meredith Haws (finding inspiration through destination)

A cool thing about being part of the jewelry industry is meeting really talented designers. One of them is Meredith Haws, whose handmade necklaces are one of-a-kind statement pieces that transform your look. We met a while back and both of our brands are sold at The Met in Sarasota.

I thought I’d let her tell you a little bit more about her designs and what inspires her.

Meredith Haws –

My jewelry designs are made from semi precious stones, and often a center focal point might be an ancient Roman Coin, Byzantine Cross, a French Medallion or a fossilized shark’s tooth! I usually travel out of the country twice a year, so my destination becomes my inspiration! I just returned from a fabulous trip to Sicily, where I found amazing red, Mediterranean coral. And I love the myth the Sicilians have- that when Medusa’s head was cut off by Perseus, her blood spilled into the Sea thus turning into coral!
I also traveled to Africa last fall- I have designed a collection of these over-the-top Warthog Tusk neckaces- very organic, tribal- yet very wearable- and quite the statement piece!

Meredith Haws Balasco

Meredith Haws Balasco wearing one of her designs

Throughout the years, I’ve collected a few of her handmade pieces and received countless compliments on them.

Meredith Haws Antique French Medallion With Sterling Silver Wire Wrapped 16″ Necklace Of Crystal Quartz And Labradorite.

Meredith Haws Antique French Medallion Necklace with Sterling Silver Wire-Wrapped Crystal Quartz and Labradorite.

I love that my Meredith Haws french medallion necklace has a Greek warrior on one side and an angel on the flip-side. I'll show the warrior or the angel depending on my mood:)

I love that my Meredith Haws french medallion necklace has a Greek warrior on one side and an angel on the flip-side. I'll show the warrior or the angel depending on my mood:)

Meredith Haws Aquamarine and Peruvian Opal Bird Necklace

Meredith Haws Aquamarine and Peruvian Opal Bird Necklace

One of my Meredith Haws necklaces with semi-precious stones and tiger's eye.

One of my Meredith Haws necklaces with semi-precious stones and tiger's eye.

Meredith’s pieces can be found at Deborah Kent- Tampa, The Met-Sarasota, Aerial- Boca Grande, Fl.; The Carriage House- Decatur, Al., Teen Haven- Destin, Fl., The Grand Bohemian Hotel- Asheville, N.C., Elizabeth and Prince- La Quinta, CA (outside Palm Springs), and can also be seen on line at MEREDITHHAWSJEWELRY.COM

Leave a comment